top of page

The Four (Ig)Noble truths from Fred Davis

In Buddhism, there are the four noble truths:

  1. The truth of suffering (sometimes translated as "life is suffering" or "life is filled with suffering.")

  2. The truth of the cause of suffering (our attachment with and identification with our thoughts).

  3. The truth of the end of suffering (that there is a way out of suffering).

  4. The truth of the path of suffering (In Buddhism, the Eightfold path).

However, I really like Fred Davis's version, which he calls The Four Ignoble Truths:

  1. We make stuff up.

  2. We believe the stuff we made up.

  3. We suffer because we believe the stuff we made up.

  4. We come to spirituality to try and overcome the suffering we’re experiencing because we believe the stuff we made up.

#Nonduality #Spirituality #Zen

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page